So I got the NBN installed

Discussion in 'Chin Wag' started by ClissAT, Feb 16, 2017.

  1. ClissAT

    ClissAT Valued Member Premium Member GOLD

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    338
    Location:
    Pomona, Qld
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    yesterday.
    However the ISP supplied-modem router was delivered to the wrong address even after confirming my correct address at ordering time.:rolleyes:
    So the NBN man didn't have the modem to hook up to complete the installation.
    But he didn't think forward one step.
    He activated the NBN without the router!
    Prompting my ISP to turn off my ADSL !!!:eek:
    So I have no internet until the router turns up.
    Which if going by the first attempt is any indication, it will take 2wks.:mad:
    What sort of dickheads are running the show? :clip:

    Luckily my son is here with an internet enabled phone which he is almost happy to allow me to use a few minutes of daily for checking mails etc. Pity phones struggle to get internet reception here. It's painfully slow via mobile phone.
    Lucky me hey? :sarcasm:
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2017
  2. Comfort

    Comfort Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    My installer had at least one spare in his truck
     
  3. stevo

    stevo Backyard Farmer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    625
    Location:
    Clontarf, Qld
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    It sounds like the usual miscommunications with those mobs. I avoid contacting them at all costs because you know something will get stuffed up. They say "yeah yeah I've got it all sorted".. and then you realise later they didn't sort it and there's no record of it.
     
  4. ClissAT

    ClissAT Valued Member Premium Member GOLD

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    338
    Location:
    Pomona, Qld
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    I just checked the tracking number for the second router & again its a heap of lies.
    At 8.26am this morning they apparently attempted delivery to my address.
    At that time I was on my driveway watering.
    At 8.27am the van delivered the consignment to the local post office which is 15mins drive from my place!
    Bl@@dy fast vans those Startrack vans! :sarcasm:
    Just as well I checked the tracking number because I was heading out today thinking my router would arrive sometime later next week.
    Hopefully I will have internet again by tonight. :yahoo:
     
  5. stevo

    stevo Backyard Farmer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    625
    Location:
    Clontarf, Qld
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    They probably switched the adsl back on and turned the nbn off ... mwahah :hysterical:
     
  6. ClissAT

    ClissAT Valued Member Premium Member GOLD

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    338
    Location:
    Pomona, Qld
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    Earlier this evening, my son(high folluting IT specialist, here on holidays from OS) installed the new router using his own methods (even though it was a plug & play device! ;)) & helped me change over all the wifi thingies I have around the house.
    Conveniently the new router has a guest network which can be made separate to the main house network.
    That will be very handy for use by my granny flat tenants.
    Just need to get the phone working properly now & it will be all good to go.
    More data than I will use in a life time at break neck speed, all calls free, free router, free installation, all for no more than I have been paying for years already.
    Just as well some things are getting cheaper as the years go by! Hopefully the service will remain good.
    And I had the pleasure of telling Telstra where to stick their expensive non-operative phone line!
    :blah::D
    Yay!
     
  7. Comfort

    Comfort Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    I think that is happening more and more with start rack. .. we have had the same thing...
     
  8. Mark

    Mark Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    4,382
    Likes Received:
    981
    Location:
    Bellmere, QLD
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    Our NBN was a nightmare to get installed but thankfully it has been running great for the past 6 months without issue...

    We still can't get more than the consistent 23mbps apparently due to some properties in the area still being on ADSL but once the deadline of changing over runs out I believe the speeds will increase (perhaps double) - or at least have the option to upgrade it.
     
  9. Comfort

    Comfort Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    @Mark Read this thread http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/2412382 which discusses limiting FTTN because of co-existence to ADSL2+

    If you were paying for a 25mbps service and getting 23mbps on speed tests chances are you are not being restricted. Any network technology has overheads and a 23mbps speed test is what you would expect out of a full speed 25mbps connection.

    ie... a 57.5mbps theoretical limit would still show as 23mbps if you are only paying for a 25mbps account.

    If you do only pay for a 25mbps like most users then you would need to pay for a speed increase to determine if you are limited to a download speed 23mbps. I think you can do this on a month by month basis and it should only cost you $10 to $15 per month extra.

    If after the account speed limit is lifted the line speed does not increase then you are being limited by physical not account restraints. It could genuinely be because of coexistence restrictions but more likely because of cable length. You live in an acreage area like me which means the chance that you are very close to a FTTN node point is lower.

    How far are you from the node point? If about 100 to 200m away you should get faster. If about 300 to 400m then that is probably the best speed you are going to get. This is very general based on the speeds achieved in our acreage estate (which may not be exactly replicated in yours...)
     
  10. Flatland

    Flatland Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    52
    Climate:
    Arid, Desert, or Dry
    I'm surprised by your statement that it isn't costing you any more than you are already paying. When NBN came to Milang I looked into it & it was way more expensive than the wireless broadband I am using. Everyone I've talked to here who are gone with it has not got the speeds they were promised but it has cost them heaps more. I'm sticking with wireless.
     
  11. Mark

    Mark Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    4,382
    Likes Received:
    981
    Location:
    Bellmere, QLD
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    Yes that's right, I can't actually get more than 23mb because (as it was explained to me) our area won't be upgraded to anything faster until the 12 month grace has passed to enable ADSL customers to mover over. After that, we will supposedly get 50/100 options (at extra cost).

    Our previous wireless connection was around 1.5 - 3 mbps (pretty awful) with a monthly internet bill of $160 for 25G we now get 1000G @ 23 mbps for 90 bucks... just a tad better deal ;)

    I may even shop around in the future for a better deal because lately I've seen flyers in the letter box for half the price.
     
  12. Comfort

    Comfort Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    You might not get 50mbs.... unless you are located close to the node but generally the price increase is only small... unfortunatley i am located at the end of the estate and get 22mbs so no increase for me
     
  13. David - coona

    David - coona Active Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    15
    Climate:
    Temperate (all seasons)
    We cannot get FTTN/P, so we looked at satellite NBN, not to bad on the speeds but latency was huge. No good for gaming. We went with 4G, we are on the edge of the coverage according to the map. We get 18/5 Mbps costing $59 for 50gb. We can stream a video and plan game at the same time, pretty happy with it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. ClissAT

    ClissAT Valued Member Premium Member GOLD

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    338
    Location:
    Pomona, Qld
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    Flatland I am very surprised get a choice in what sort of NBN you want.
    I was just told what sort of connection I was getting & all I could do was choose the retailer.
    So far I am happy with the service.
    I have not noticed any difference with the internet but the phone has been good.
    I don't need super fast although it would e good to have a better speed for upload.
    Seems they save on the upload to offer better download deals.
    I don't do TV or movies by internet so I don't need these volumes or speeds but I didn't want to pay for phone calls so I was restricted to the one plan.
    Still cheap.
     
  15. Flatland

    Flatland Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    52
    Climate:
    Arid, Desert, or Dry
    I think it depends on how much data you are using . OH & I use very little so the problem is if we go NBN we have to pay a lot more and get a data allowance that we would never use. It might be cheaper per KB but if we are not using it we would just be paying out a lot of money for something we don't need. There aren't any plans for really small usage.
    Comments on satellite internet connection. We had that in the Adelaide Hills & hated it. lots of people in our area had satellite & found it was as slow as a wet week & very weather dependant. If it was raining it wasn't even worth turning the computer on. But it worked well for some people so I don't know why it was useless for others.
     
  16. Ash

    Ash Valued Member Premium Member GOLD

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    270
    Location:
    Preston, QLD
    Climate:
    Temperate (all seasons)
    A few ISPs do provide a small/budget option for NBN plans but in general most offer 100Gb and above because of how much people use all their wifi devices on the internet as well. App updates, cloud backups, streaming video all adds up when it comes to home internet.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  17. Mark

    Mark Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    4,382
    Likes Received:
    981
    Location:
    Bellmere, QLD
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    Helen Coonan under the Howard govt gave us a free install satellite dish for internet when we first moved out here. Optus charged the govt about 2.5k to install a metre diameter dish on our roof.

    The useless thing was awfully unreliable and within about 12 months we thankfully got 3g so I turned the dish into a giant bird bath down the back.
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  18. Flatland

    Flatland Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    52
    Climate:
    Arid, Desert, or Dry
    Hi Mark we got the same deal with the free install of satellite dish and also found it totally unreliable. Never thought to turn it into something useful like a birth bath, it just stayed on our roof and even the birds didn't think much of it and rarely used it as a perch.

    Hi Ash that is our problem. All the plans that are on offer in our area are 100Gb a month or more and on our prepaid we buy 16Gb and that lasts us about a year. As I said we are not big users.
     

Share This Page