Question Need help with no name Chinese incubator

Discussion in 'Poultry, Domestic Livestock, Pets, & Bees' started by DarrenP, Nov 24, 2017.

1. DarrenP

DarrenP Active Member Premium Member GOLD

Climate:
    Temperate (all seasons)
    Hi,
    We want to incubate our own chickens, and bought a FHQ-48 incubator from Ebay. Other than the number, there is no brand. The instructions, while in English (barely), don't say how to operate it, other than what the buttons do. A google search led me to this forum.

So can anyone give a basic rundown on how to operate it for an absolute newbie.

Thanks in advance.

2. Silver Egg

Silver Egg Well-Known Member Premium Member

Climate:
    Temperate (all seasons)
  3. DarrenP

Climate:
    Temperate (all seasons)
    Thanks. I'll have a read.

4. DarrenP

Climate:
    Temperate (all seasons)
    So I couldn't find any manuals online, but found several good YouTube clips (including one from this site). After watching them, I got enough info to be confident in running the incubator. The girl we bought the fertilised eggs from gave me some good tips too.

5. Robyn67

Robyn67 Active Member Premium Member GOLD

Climate:
    Cold, Cool, Mountains, or Artic
    Good luck with incubating. I've just started incubating on a cheap chinese one. First batch went very well and we bought another incubator the same. I haven't bought an independent thermometer or hyrdometer as the incubating sites say. As my first hatch started a day late, I think the temperature may have been down, so I've increased it slightly for this batch. I have bought and my own fertile eggs in both of them - some of the eggs were posted, so I'm going to see how they go and won't be too disappointed if they don't turn out.

• Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. DarrenP

Climate:
    Temperate (all seasons)