Howdy from the scrub.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Tim C, Aug 7, 2014.

1. Tim C

Tim C Two heads are better than one Premium Member GOLD

G'day from the Riverland SA My names Tim and after Marks cordial invitation I decided to join. Apart from poultry, the rest is old hat to me. I'm a bush-boy. Born at Lameroo. Off the Soldier-Settler Mallee farm. Brought up on white sand. A woolclasser by trade , I've spent most of my life north of Broken Hill in the shearing sheds.. A hard working, hard playing and laconic Aussie lifestyle. My last 3 years were managing a sheep station out of Tibooburra NSW. I arrived at the end of a drought. 1200 sheep on the place. Then we had the wettest year in recorded history. Floodgates, flies, mozzies and fires. Fencing in the hundreds of Kms. Last summer was 48c for a month. The squatter had finished with me, now there were 5421 sheep. So I was sacked with a weeks notice....
    Now I'm back looking after Mum, who has well, bad, bowel cancer. She's a tough old bird though, and we couldn't live under the same roof. So I look after a mates block across the river at Cadell. He's been away, working in Joh's/Gods country for the last 3 years. It's 3 acres, mainly scrub, but with extensive(was derelict) irrigation . Red sand over limestone, on the edge of the Murray River Valley. A close-knit and eccentric community, so I fit in well. All the neighbours were over for a squizzy once they saw the lights on.
    I'm propagating bush tucker and lairy, conversation veg. Colourfuls and unusuals. We've had minus 5c the last 6 nights, so I'm glad for a small plastic greenhouse with an electric blanket in the bottom. Finally some seeds coming through..