Question Does pure honey mean pure honey?

Discussion in 'Food - Cooking, Preserving & Fermentation' started by Mark, Dec 26, 2014.

1. Mark

Mark Founder Staff Member

Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    Is it true honey sold as "pure" can have glucose added?

We're having an extended family argument about it on Boxing day :)

2. stevo

stevo Backyard Farmer Premium Member GOLD

Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    well I've never heard of that but i'm no expert. Was there an outcome?

but on a side note, I reckon you've probably increased you and your families bee knowledge (native and other) over the last year because of this site and how the subject keeps coming up. :cheers:

• Like Like x 3
  3. Steve

Steve Valued Member Premium Member

I've never heard that either but you would think if it was sold commercially that the ingredients are listed as such.

On a side note, I've always wondered about the legitimacy of honey that claims it is 'organic'. Can the bee owner 100% guarantee that? Or is it even something that would be so insignificant that it shouldn't be bought into the equation?

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Mark

Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    Well in the end, we agreed to disagree and then I got too inebriated to investigate it further.

My argument was exactly the same as yours @Steve that it would have to be labeled as such: something like, "glucose added" or in the ingredients somewhere. Pure honey HAS to mean pure honey surely! But yesterday others were adamant that they get around Australian labelling laws somehow - interestingly no one could point to any hard evidence to back their claims so we have to put this down to rumour I think unless something else comes to light.

As for organic, yes it would be interesting to find out how they certify this because bees can travel quite a long way :dunno:

• Like Like x 1
  5. Tim C

Tim C Two heads are better than one Premium Member GOLD