Question Chicken Health

Steve

Valued Member
Premium Member
So a search through this site has uncovered a few gems when it comes to looking after chickens but being a real novice I'm feeling a little overwhelmed. Maybe it's too much info not aimed at a complete idiot (that's me :confused:) because I think that's what I need.

My question is, how do i look after my chickens' health?
Please go easy on me, I'm new to chickens.
What do I need to look out for, and how?
What do I need to treat them for on a scheduled basis? And how?

I know these might be some broad questions but if you can break it down a little into simple speak it might help me to get my head around this.

I'd really appreciate the wisdom of the gurus on this site to guide me to a flourishing flock!

PS: if theres already a thread that I've missed that's already covered all this then please point me in that direction.

:feedchooks::feedchooks::feedchooks::feedchooks::feedchooks::feedchooks::feedchooks::feedchooks:

Cheers,
Steve

Last edited:

Mark

Founder
Staff member
Premium Member
GOLD
Website
www.selfsufficientme.com
Climate
Sub-Tropical
My question is, how do i look after my chickens' health?
Firstly Steve, don't be overwhelmed by keeping chickens because you'll soon find out they're as easy as keeping any other pet - probably easier.

Once your hens get into a routine (after a few weeks of arriving at their new home) they will adapt to your habits and look after themselves by grooming, dust bathing, and exercising via digging, scratching, and interacting with each other.

Always ensure they have water and food because hens like to actively graze most of the day. Supplement their diet with lots of scraps from the garden and table - chooks love scraps and a varied diet!

Clean out their coop and nesting boxes whenever necessary. For most coops, a typical cleanout and change of bedding gets done about once a fortnight to a month but generally follow your nose and eyeballs on when to clean it out.