Question Can you buy grafted type A and B avocados trees?

Discussion in 'Fruit & Vegetable Growing' started by Renee Shields, Mar 17, 2019.

1. Renee Shields

Renee Shields Member Premium Member GOLD

Climate:
    Temperate (all seasons)
    hello everyone,

I’m really new to gardening but I’m wanting an avo tree as avos are so expensive to buy and from being in western Sydney they are also terrible quality. I want an avo tree but I only really have room for one. I realise that you need type a and type b in order for cross pollination to occur. I was wondering if there is a type A and B tree that is grafted together like you get with lemon and lime trees?

2. ClissAT

ClissAT Valued Member Premium Member GOLD

Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    Hi Renee and welcome to the forum.
    Yes you can buy types A & B grafted.
    I bought a pair a few years ago when I went to the SEQld garden show at Nambour.
    But you are down in Sydney, but you should still be able to get them from a good supplier. Might have to go to a wholesaler.
    Mine ended up dying due to my crap soil and inconsistent rain.
    So that's something to think about because each tree will cost about $45-50. They cost so much because they are triple grafted, roots, stem, fruiting branches which takes around 4yrs.
    So if you are definitely doing this, begin fixing your soil now where the trees will be planted in readiness to plant in late winter. They hate rich freshly fertilized or composted soil.

3. Renee Shields

Climate:
    Temperate (all seasons)
    Ok well our soil is pretty crap in general. It’s dry and crumbly so I’ll havw to look into what soil they will need and google a wholesaler. Thank you for your advise!

4. ClissAT

Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    Renee don't buy soil or compost from a garden centre or bagged from the hardware or nursery. We've discussed it here in other threads about how much of a waste of money it is and how heart breaking it can be.