Admin thing

Discussion in 'Announcements, Rules, Admin Questions' started by ClissAT, Oct 12, 2016.

  1. ClissAT

    ClissAT Valued Member Premium Member GOLD

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,119
    Likes Received:
    536
    Location:
    Pomona, Qld
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    Question for Mark.

    Recently I am spending a lot of time at my elderly Mother's place at Sippy Downs as she has been very ill. I am using a Telstra mobile phone as a hot spot to browse the internet on my laptop. (Sorry, I'm not up to using the phone for all my browsing etc yet! o_O)

    Anyway last night I wanted to come here & have a read but my IP was blocked twice. I assume it was the IP of the phone that was blocked.
    So I didn't tempt fate by trying a third time. I decided to wait until tonight when I am home using my usual ISP which the inner workings of this website will recognise.

    I have previously checked this forum using the mobile hotspot without incident.
    Here is a screen print from last night.
    IP block for SSC.jpg

    Its not the end of the world if the website server doesn't want my Telstra phone browsing the contents. Just be nice to know why.

    Technology is beginning to gnaw at & frustrate me just a little! :fighthey:
     
  2. Mark

    Mark Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    4,589
    Likes Received:
    1,048
    Location:
    Bellmere, QLD
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    Yes that is frustrating because there should be no reason for my site to block you like that and it's coming from the server host, not my actual website.

    Please let me know if this happens again and I'll contact my host (NetVirtue) to sort it out - they're a good company - I suspect they'd simply have to adjust a setting and it would take a few seconds to do because I have seen something similar before on other sites. I know they have been updating the servers lately as they informed me of outages the other day so perhaps there was a glitch somewhere...
     
  3. ClissAT

    ClissAT Valued Member Premium Member GOLD

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,119
    Likes Received:
    536
    Location:
    Pomona, Qld
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    ok, thanks for that info Mark.
    Maybe that's what it was.
    Not a worry.
    If it happens again I'll let you know.
     
  4. stevo

    stevo Backyard Farmer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    644
    Location:
    Clontarf, Qld
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    It's detected that you're addicted to the site :p
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
  5. ClissAT

    ClissAT Valued Member Premium Member GOLD

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,119
    Likes Received:
    536
    Location:
    Pomona, Qld
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::yahoo::heart:
     
  6. ClissAT

    ClissAT Valued Member Premium Member GOLD

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,119
    Likes Received:
    536
    Location:
    Pomona, Qld
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    Mark thanks for fixing my hot spot issue.
    Whatever you did or requested to be done, worked a treat.
    Having internet access to pass the time, helped me enormously to endure the final days with my Mother.

    I'm home again now, to clear up the disaster area created by various wildlife that had a massive party at my expense while my back was turned. :fighthey:
     
  7. Mark

    Mark Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    4,589
    Likes Received:
    1,048
    Location:
    Bellmere, QLD
    Climate:
    Sub-Tropical
    There was a significant software update so although I can't pin the issue down exactly I'm guessing the update fixed the problem.

    I can relate to this :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page